Wednesday, May 11, 2011

The European Union plans to shift tariff benefits to some poor countries including Pakistan

Brazil, Argentina, Russia, Saudi Arabia and some other relatively prosperous developing countries will be excluded from trade preferences under the plan, which must be approved by the European Parliament and the EU’s 27 member states.

The EU, the will instead focus on poorer countries it views as being in greater need of growth-oriented trade benefits, including Pakistan and Ukraine.

Trade Commissioner Karel De Gucht told in a statement, as he laid out reforms that are a broad reworking of EU trade policy.

No comments:

Post a Comment