Monday, June 27, 2011

Azad Jammu and Kashmir (AJK) election 2011 results

AJK poll results: Pakistan People’s Party AJK appeared to have gained simple majority in the AJK Legislative Assembly as unofficial results of the polling 37 constituencies for which elections were held on Sunday(out of total 41) poured in at late night but a private TV channel reported that the PPP leadership had decided to invite the Muslim Conference to form a broad-based government.

According to the channel, Prime Minister Syed Yousuf Raza Gilani contacted AJK Prime Minister Sardar Attique Ahmed Khan, the chief of the Muslim Conference.

Unofficial results showed that of the 37 constituencies in the AJK territory, the PPP had either won or was leading by a sizeable margin in 20, followed by the Muslim Conference MC which had clinched victory in 5 and the PML-N which emerged victorious in 9 constituencies.The independents pocketed 3 seats.
The major upset was the defeat of Sardar Khalid Ibrahim, head of Jammu and Kashmir People’s Party, who lost his contesting seat considered to be part of his inheritance and a stronghold of JKPP.Jamaat-I-Islami AJK Amir Abdur Rashid Turrable also lost.
PPP central leader and in-charge of the AJK elections campaign Barrister Sultan Mahmood Chaudhry won the elections from his home constituency, Mirpur, with overwhelming majority and so did the another PPP most favorite Sardar Mohammad Yaqoob defeated Sardar Khalid Ibrahim.