Monday, August 1, 2011

New President of AJK , Sardar Muhammad Yaqub

The current president elected belongs to Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) . Sardar Yaqub Khan has been elected President Azad Jammu & Kashmir (AJK) by securing 40 votes .

PPP favoured Sardar Yaqub Khan instead of Chaudhry Latif Akbar while Pakistan Muslim League N (PMLN) nominated Khan Bahadur Khan who secured 11 votes only in the polling .

 He was elected as MLA in 2001 and 2006 while in 2001, he also served as the health minister in AJK.
He is expected to take oath on August 25th

No comments:

Post a Comment